The 40th Glenfiddich Piping Championship


The Glenfiddich Piping Championship was established in 1974 to inspire and stimulate the world’s finest individual pipers, and to seek the best overall exponents of ceol mor or piobaireachd (the great music) and ceol beag (the little music). Each year ten competitors receive an invitation to compete at the “The Glenfiddich” after winning, or being placed in, one of the senior piping events taking place throughout the year.

The 40th Glenfiddich Piping Championship took place on Saturday 26th October at Blair Castle, Blair Atholl, Perthshire, commencing promptly at 10am.

Iain Speirs of Edinburgh, successful defended his title with a second consecutive win, through a preference for the piobaireachd result. In the overall standings, Stuart Liddell was second and Willie McCallum third.

Invited to compete are:
Callum Beaumont
Alan Bevan
Cameron Drummond
Alastair Dunn
Bruce Gandy
Jack Lee
Stuart Liddell
William McCallum
Angus MacColl
Iain Speirs

Piobaireachd Judges are:
Malcolm McRae
Ronnie McShannon
Jack Taylor

March, Strathspey & Reel Judges are:
Iain MacFadyen
Jim McGillivray
Willie Morrison

Fear an Tighe:
John Wilson

Scottish Guides & Fun Books on Amazon:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *