Stuart Liddell Continues His Remarkable Form With A Win At The Oban Senior Piobaireachd


Stuart Liddell continues his remarkable piping career by winning the Senior Piobaireachd for the second time having previous won the most coveted prize in 2012.  His second place at the Former Winners MSR competition secured his place as ‘Champion Piper’.  Mixing solo playing and pipe bands – Stuart led his band, Inveraray & District to third in Grade 1 at the World Pipe Band Championships earlier in the month.

Angus MacColl, from Oban, won the Silver Star MSR Competition, having previously won in 2008, in the completion  for former winners of the ‘A’ Grade MSR.

Senior Piobaireachd

  1. Stuart Liddell, “Lament for the Earl of Antrim”
  2. Iain Speirs, “Lament for Patrick Og MacCrimmon”
  3. Andrew Hayes, “Lament for the Duke of Hamilton”
  4. Finlay Johnston, “Lament for the Earl of Antrim”
  5. Faye Henderson,  “Mrs. MacLeod of Talisker’s Salute”

Judges: Bill Livingstone, Iain MacFadyen, John Wilson

Highland Society of London Gold Medal

  1. John Angus Smith, “Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay”
  2. James P Troy, “Lament for the Laird of Annapool”
  3. James MacHattie, “MacNeill of Barra’s March”
  4. Andrew Carlisle, “Lament for the Earl of Antrim”
  5. Alastair Henderson, “The Big Spree”

Judges: Willie Morrison, Jack Taylor, Bob Worrall

Silver Star March Strathspey & Reel

  1. Angus MacColl
  2. Stuart Liddell
  3. Willie McCallum
  4. Alastair Lee, Coquitlam
  5. Gordon McCready

Judges: Jimmy Banks, Iain MacLellan, Stuart Samson 

Silver Medal

  1. Sandy Cameron, “The Blind Piper’s Obstinacy”
  2. Sean McKeown,  “Isabel Mackay”
  3. Ed Bush, Cardinal, “The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute”
  4. Michael Fitzhenry,  “Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay”
  5. Sarah Muir, “Lament for Captain MacDougall”

Judges: Alan Forbes, Patricia Henderson, Ronnie McShannon 

MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd Competition

  1. Charlie MacDonald
  2. John Dew
  3. Callum Watson
  4. Ross Miller

Judges: Malcolm McRae, Robert Wallace, Bill Wotherspoon, Andrew Wright

‘A’ Grade March Final

  1. Alasdair Henderson
  2. Calum Beaumont
  3. Jamie Troy
  4. Innes Smith
  5. Peter Hunt
  6. Euan MacCrimmon

Judges: J Banks, W Livingstone, R MacShannon

‘A’ Grade S&R Final

  1. Alasdair Henderson
  2. Iain Speirs
  3. Mike Fitzhenry
  4. Gordon McCready
  5. Sean McKeown
  6. Jamie Troy

Judges: B Donaldson, I MacFadyen, S Samson



Scottish Guides & Fun Books on Amazon: