Stuart Liddel wins the 2014 Glenfiddich Championship

Piping, Whisky

STUART LIDDELL has won the 41th Glenfiddich Invitational Solo Piping Championship – the competition recognised as the most prestigious in the World, invites ten of the most successful pipers on the competition circuit in the year, to Blair Castle, Scotland.

Stuart Liddell, from Inveraray, started piping at the age of nine and was originally taught by his grandfather, the late Pipe Major Ronald McCallum M.B.E. Stuart previously won the competition in 2009.

1st Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “Isabel MacKay”
2nd Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada, “The Big Spree”
3rd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray,  “Lament for Colin Roy MacKenzie”
4th Willie McCallum, Bearsden,  “The Rout of the Lowland Captain”
5th Angus MacColl, Benderloch,  “The Bells of Perth”

Judges: Colin MacLellan, William Wotherspoon, Andrew Wright

March, Strathspey and Reel 
1st Niall Stewart, “Mrs. Duncan MacFadyen,” “Hector MacLean,” “Kildonan”
2nd Stuart Liddell “Mrs. John MacColl,” “Catlodge,” “John Morrison, Assynt House”
3rd Willie McCallum, “Inveran,” “Ewe wi’ the Crookit Horn,” “The Man from Glengarry”
4th Bruce Gandy, “The Crags of Stirling,” “The Islay Ball,” “Brown-Haired Maid”
5th Douglas Murray, Cupar,  “MacLean of Pennycross,” “Highland Harry,” “Johnny MacDonald’s”

Judges: Malcolm McRae, Ronnie McShannon, John Wilson

The pipers who qualified to take part in the 2014 competition were:

  • Bruce Gandy
  • Jack Lee
  • Stuart Liddell
  • Willie McCallum
  • Angus MacColl
  • Gordon McCready
  • Roddy MacLeod
  • Douglas Murray
  • Iain Speirs
  • Niall Stewart

Previous Glenfiddich Piping Champions:

2013 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh – 2nd Win
2012 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
2011 Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow – 4th Win
2010 Angus MacColl, Benderloch – 3rd Win
2009 Stuart Liddell, Inveraray
2008 Gordon Walker, Galston – 2nd Win
2007 Gordon Walker, Galston
2006 Angus MacColl, Benderloch – 2nd Win
2005 Willie McCallum, Glasgow – 8th Win
2004 Willie McCallum, Glasgow – 7th Win
2003 Jack Lee, Canada – 1st piper from North America to win
2002 Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld – 3rd Win
2001 William McCallum, Glasgow – 6th Win
2000 William McCallum, Glasgow – 5th Win
1999 William McCallum, Glasgow – 4th Win
1998 Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh – 3rd Win
1997 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld – 2nd Win
1996 PM Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh – 2nd Win
1995 Angus MacColl, Oban
1994 William McCallum, Glasgow – 3rd Win
1993 William McCallum, Glasgow – 2nd Win
1992 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld
1991 PS Alasdair Gillies, Queen’s Own Highlanders
1990 William McCallum, Glasgow
1989 Murray Henderson, Eassie – 4th Win
1988 PM Gavin Stoddart, Army School of Piping – 2nd Win
1987 Murray Henderson, Eassie – 3rd Win
1986 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle – 4th Win
1985 Murray Henderson, Easie – 2nd Win
1984 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle – 3rd Win
1983 PM Gavin Stoddart, RHF
1982 PM Angus MacDonald – 2nd Win
1981 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle – 2nd Win
1980 PM Ian Morrison, Queen’s Own Highlanders
1979 Murray Henderson, Eassie
1978 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling
1977 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle
1976 PM Angus MacDonald, Scots Guards
1975 PM John D. Burgess, Alness
1974 James McIntosh, Dundee

Scottish Guides & Fun Books on Amazon: