Glenfiddich Piping Championships

The World’s Best Pipers in your Living Room

Music, Piping

The Glenfiddich Piping Championships – regarded as the World Championships for Solo Piping – will once again be live-streamed on the internet, presenting a great opportunity to see and hear the very best pipers in the World compete at Blair Castle on Saturday, October 25th.

The competition sees each player perform twice for the Piobaireachd – the classical music of the Highland bagpipe – and the March, Strathspey and Reel event.

Piobaireachd Judges:
Colin MacLellan
William Wotherspoon
Andrew Wright

March, Strathspey and Reel Judges:
Malcolm McRae
Ronnie McShannon
John Wilson

Iain Speirs who won the coveted prize in 2012 and 2013, will be going for three-in-a-row this year. Willie McCallum will also be competing and has won the competition a record 8 times.

The pipers who have qualified to take part in the competition for 2014 are:

  • Bruce Gandy
  • Jack Lee
  • Stuart Liddell
  • Willie McCallum
  • Angus MacColl
  • Gordon McCready
  • Roddy MacLeod
  • Douglas Murray
  • Iain Speirs
  • Niall Stewart

Glenfiddich Livestream:

Previous Glenfiddich Piping Champions:

2013 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh – 2nd Win
2012 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
2011 Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow – 4th Win
2010 Angus MacColl, Benderloch – 3rd Win
2009 Stuart Liddell, Inveraray
2008 Gordon Walker, Galston – 2nd Win
2007 Gordon Walker, Galston
2006 Angus MacColl, Benderloch – 2nd Win
2005 Willie McCallum, Glasgow – 8th Win
2004 Willie McCallum, Glasgow – 7th Win
2003 Jack Lee, Canada – 1st piper from North America to win
2002 Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld – 3rd Win
2001 William McCallum, Glasgow – 6th Win
2000 William McCallum, Glasgow – 5th Win
1999 William McCallum, Glasgow – 4th Win
1998 Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh – 3rd Win
1997 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld – 2nd Win
1996 PM Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh – 2nd Win
1995 Angus MacColl, Oban
1994 William McCallum, Glasgow – 3rd Win
1993 William McCallum, Glasgow – 2nd Win
1992 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld
1991 PS Alasdair Gillies, Queen’s Own Highlanders
1990 William McCallum, Glasgow
1989 Murray Henderson, Eassie – 4th Win
1988 PM Gavin Stoddart, Army School of Piping – 2nd Win
1987 Murray Henderson, Eassie – 3rd Win
1986 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle – 4th Win
1985 Murray Henderson, Easie – 2nd Win
1984 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle – 3rd Win
1983 PM Gavin Stoddart, RHF
1982 PM Angus MacDonald – 2nd Win
1981 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle – 2nd Win
1980 PM Ian Morrison, Queen’s Own Highlanders
1979 Murray Henderson, Eassie
1978 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling
1977 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle
1976 PM Angus MacDonald, Scots Guards
1975 PM John D. Burgess, Alness
1974 James McIntosh, Dundee



Image: 2013 Glenfiddich Piping Championships 

Scottish Guides & Fun Books on Amazon: